Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

the place to report any bug met in the game

Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby MisterXDTV » 29 Jul 2015, 23:53

I have an AMD HD 6570 graphics card

I had no problem playing TE2013 with Windows 8.1 pro

I upgraded to Windows 10 pro today (and my video card drivers too) but the game is not as fluid as before despite the fact that fps are still 60 locked

Sometimes it stutters badly for a few seconds but even when it doesn't it still feels different than before (not smooth)

Is TE 2013 fully Windows 10 compatible? What can I do to fix the problem?

Thanks!

EDIT by ManuTOO:
several solutions are exposed in this message and the following ones : viewtopic.php?p=223508#p223508
MisterXDTV
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 8
Gaming Since: 23 Feb 2013, 22:32

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby manutoo » 30 Jul 2015, 04:47

Hello,

I didn't test TE2013 on Win10, so I don't know if it can run well on it or not...
But normally, all Windows are backward compatible so Win10 should be able to run TE2013 correctly if the drivers are alright. Maybe it'd require to switch it to a compatibility mode, though.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15813
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Heinrich von Westphalen » 30 Jul 2015, 06:59

manutoo wrote:Hello,

I didn't test TE2013 on Win10, so I don't know if it can run well on it or not...
But normally, all Windows are backward compatible so Win10 should be able to run TE2013 correctly if the drivers are alright. Maybe it'd require to switch it to a compatibility mode, though.

Works perfectly without compatibility mode. (Changed from 8.1 to 10)

Kind regards,
Heinrich von Westphalen.
Heinrich von Westphalen
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 1479
Gaming Since: 12 Dec 2012, 05:48
Location: Germany

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby isaldor » 30 Jul 2015, 15:14

Hi, i got the same issue. Game is freezing badly for few seconds despite no FPS drop. It happens since i've updated to W10 from W8.1.
Edit: I have a Nvidia GTX960 and my drivers are up to date.
Last edited by isaldor on 30 Jul 2015, 15:34, edited 1 time in total.
isaldor
court stakhanovite
court stakhanovite
 
Messages: 33
Gaming Since: 10 Dec 2013, 15:38

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Uchiha Muss » 30 Jul 2015, 15:23

Ditto.
I also upgraded from Windows 8.1 and having these stutters. I thought maybe it's because of driver mismatch and reinstalled Nvidia drivers from scratch. In game it shows i'm using Nvidia card. The issue definitely exists.

FYI. It lags in Vanilla too. So that rules out the possibility of ITST mod causing problems.
User avatar
Uchiha Muss
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 76
Gaming Since: 15 Feb 2013, 20:47
Location: Ireland

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Nopa69 » 30 Jul 2015, 16:40

I have the same issue :(
Nopa69
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 22
Gaming Since: 01 Jul 2015, 19:35

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby MisterXDTV » 30 Jul 2015, 17:40

Glad I'm not the only one with this issue...

And it doesn't seem to be an AMD card problem....

I'm using ITST Mod 1.17 too
MisterXDTV
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 8
Gaming Since: 23 Feb 2013, 22:32

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Nopa69 » 30 Jul 2015, 21:01

This is very annoying, because I can't really play :/
Hopefully it will be soon fixed! :)
Nopa69
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 22
Gaming Since: 01 Jul 2015, 19:35

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby manutoo » 31 Jul 2015, 05:34

Everybody with issue,
could you try to change this line, in your Tennis.ini (or the .ini of your Profile), under [Game], from :
TimePolling = 0
to:
TimePolling = 1
then save it and check what happens in game, then close game, then change 1 to 2 and save it again & launch game again, and tell me if it changes anything.
Also, display the FPS (from "Misc Options" menu), and tell me if it's much different from 60 or not.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15813
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Uchiha Muss » 31 Jul 2015, 09:55

That didn't fix it for me. I tried even number 2, whatever it's supposed to do. Windowed or full screen, stuttering exists either way. Even in menus FPS drops to 52-53 quite often. Same thing happens in the game too.
At least we know it's Windows 10 specific issue. Both AMD and Nvidia owners have the same problem.
I'm on gt 525m
User avatar
Uchiha Muss
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 76
Gaming Since: 15 Feb 2013, 20:47
Location: Ireland

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Nopa69 » 31 Jul 2015, 10:29

That changes nothing :/
It's strange because the game always shows 60 fps, even when the game is jerky.. (I'm on laptop : Intel Core i7-3630QM - 8 go ram - AMD Radeon HD 7670M)
Nopa69
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 22
Gaming Since: 01 Jul 2015, 19:35

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Rob92 » 31 Jul 2015, 12:17

After I updated to Windows 10 I had an issue not mentioned here yet - I couldn't launch TE at all. It would crash immediately after launching... I uninstalled it, deleted my profile and reinstalled and now it works and seems to be running fine without the stutters that others here have reported. I have only played a couple of online sets so far though.

The cause of these crashes seems to be the "FSAA" setting, whenever I try turning it on I get the same crash as when I tried launching the game on my previous install (which had FSAA turned on from my previous profile). I've turned on AA in the Nvidia Control Panel instead now so functionally it's no problem for me.

Here's a short video showing what happens when trying to use FSAA;

(unlisted so people won't find it with search)

I have also attached the System.Log file that this error message mentions.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Rob92
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 86
Gaming Since: 26 Jun 2011, 02:35

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Uchiha Muss » 31 Jul 2015, 16:25

Rob92 wrote:After I updated to Windows 10 I had an issue not mentioned here yet - I couldn't launch TE at all. It would crash immediately after launching... I uninstalled it, deleted my profile and reinstalled and now it works and seems to be running fine without the stutters that others here have reported. I have only played a couple of online sets so far though.

Yeah I had the same issue. After upgrading to Windows 10 the game stopped launching. I ran the game with Run_TE_Vanilla.bat and it worked. Right away I knew somehow ITST installation was corrupted or mismatched somewhere. Reinstalled the game from scratch and now it works.

The cause of these crashes seems to be the "FSAA" setting, whenever I try turning it on I get the same crash as when I tried launching the game on my previous install (which had FSAA turned on from my previous profile). I've turned on AA in the Nvidia Control Panel instead now so functionally it's no problem for me.

I think this FSAA might be the cause of all our problems. Before I could run the game at all max settings, FSAA=4, Anisotropic Level=8. Now whenever I change their values it resets back to FSAA off and A.L to 4. No matter what I do FSAA is off. At least the game doesn't crash for me when I change it.
Now the only thing that's unique is that you and Heinrich don't have the stuttering but the rest of us do. I'll try to mess with the game from Nvidia Control Panel like you did.
User avatar
Uchiha Muss
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 76
Gaming Since: 15 Feb 2013, 20:47
Location: Ireland

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Rob92 » 31 Jul 2015, 16:53

Uchiha Muss wrote:I think this FSAA might be the cause of all our problems. Before I could run the game at all max settings, FSAA=4, Anisotropic Level=8. Now whenever I change their values it resets back to FSAA off and A.L to 4. No matter what I do FSAA is off. At least the game doesn't crash for me when I change it.
Now the only thing that's unique is that you and Heinrich don't have the stuttering but the rest of us do. I'll try to mess with the game from Nvidia Control Panel like you did.

I had the same problem with the game crashing on launch with a seperate non-Steam vanilla install (which also has FSAA applied), although I didn't try the vanilla .bat file on my ITST install.

As a quick test, I just did a fresh install of the latest TE version (non-Steam), no mods whatsoever, tried to enable FSAA and got the identical crash, so for me at least I think it's clear that the mod is not responsible for that issue. I'll attach the System.Log file from that crash here too to show it's not related to a mod/Steam.
User avatar
Rob92
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 86
Gaming Since: 26 Jun 2011, 02:35

Re: Windows 10 upgrade, same configuration game stutters

Postby Heinrich von Westphalen » 31 Jul 2015, 17:26

Game crashes by swapping apps during full screen since update to Windows 10. Also this "stuttering" appears during fast balls (just for the ball) ... FPS is stable. Reinstall / playing with vanilla doesn't help. Drivers are updated.

Kind regards,
Heinrich von Westphalen.
Heinrich von Westphalen
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 1479
Gaming Since: 12 Dec 2012, 05:48
Location: Germany

Next

Return to TE - Bug Report

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot [Bot] and 0 guests