New way to Mod sound in TE4

Everything about Modding the game, from new courts to the modifications of the player & tournament bases (and including all the bugs they may be creating ! ;) )

New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby manutoo » 26 Jan 2022, 12:23

Hello,

the v0.49 features a new way to Mod sounds which avoid using numbers and thus allows to more easily put new grunts, strike sounds, and so on, all that without touching the Sound.ini nor the GameSys.ini .

1) Grunts :

in the Sounds folder, create a subfolder starting with "Grunt-Male_" or "Grunt-Female_" followed by the name you want to see in-game, eg : "Grunt-Male_Muster [by Super Modder]". (note : do not use '~' nor '"' in the folder name), and then place these 3 files in it : GruntA.ogg, GruntB.ogg, GruntC.ogg (the files can be .wav or .mp3 instead).

If you want more or fewer than 3 files, or use different names, then create a Sound.ini in your folder (eg: "Grunt-Male_Muster [by Super Modder]\Sound.ini"), and for example, put this in it :
Code: Select all
[SoundFxAc]
Grunt      =   Grunt1, Grunt2, Grunt3, Grunt4


2) Strike, bounce & skid sounds :

In your Surface.ini (or your Stadium.ini, except for skid & bounce), you can specify what sound folder to use for each type of sounds, eg :
Code: Select all
[Sound]
Hit      =   Hit_MyHit
Serve   =   Serve_MyServe
Bounce      =   Bounce_Clay
Skid      =   Skid_Clay

If you don't specify the Hit & Serve folders, the default sounds in the Sound folder will be used.
If Bounce or Skid isn't specified, then [Physics] Type will determine the used folder.

You can also specify only 1 general folder for all your Hit, Serve, Skid & Bounce folders, like this :
Code: Select all
[Sound]
Global      =   Court_MySuperCourt


Then you put the corresponding sounds in the correct subfolder; eg:
- Sounds\Hit_MyHit\Hit_Med1.ogg
- Sounds\Court_MySuperCourt\Bounce.ogg (or .wav or .mp3)

You can also define a global folder and specific folder(s) ; eg :
Code: Select all
[Sound]
Global      =   Court_MySuperCourt
Skid      =   Skid_Clay

Same as for the grunts, if you want more or fewer sound files, or use different names, then create a Sound.ini in your folder (eg: "Court_MySuperCourt\Sound.ini"), and enter only the changed entries in it.

Note : the legacy numbers in the [Physics] section aren't used anymore.


3) Umpire Voices :

You can add umpires for US, UK, FR (French) and DE (German), eg: UmpireUS_MyUmpireName.
You can then select him by selecting his corresponding language in Settings -> Audio -> Umpire Announcements, and then his name.

If you want to provide several sounds for the same announce, you'll have to create a Sound.ini (eg: UmpireUS_MyUmpireName\Sound.ini), and for example, put this in it :
Code: Select all
[SoundFxAc]
Score_0_15      =   Score_0-15a, Score_0-15b, Score_0-15c

The game will then select randomly a sound between the 3 each time it plays the 0-15 announce.


4) Ambiance Tracks :

To add ambiance tracks to your stadium, add these sections to your Stadium.ini :
Code: Select all
[AmbianceDay]
Track      =   HugeCity
Volume      =   0.6

[AmbianceNight]
Track      =   BangkokInTheMorning


Volume is optional and allows you to lower the volume of the track.

The built-in ambiance tracks are :
- BangkokInTheMorning
- Beach
- DowntownLA-LittleTokyoLateNight
- HugeCity
- MinuteOfPeace
- NightRural
- NightTimeCrickets
- ResidentialDay

To have no track, use :
Code: Select all
Track      =   


If you want to use your own track, then copy your .mp3 or .ogg file into this folder : Mods\MySuperMod\Music\Ambiance .
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 18689
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby hoang031099 » 26 Jan 2022, 15:43

Hi manutoo, after install the v0.49 update I cannot hear the sound of grunts, strike, ball bounce, umpire voice,... anymore. How to fix this?
Sorry for my bad English.
hoang031099
tennis fan
tennis fan
 
Messages: 10
Gaming Since: 26 Jan 2022, 15:37

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby manutoo » 26 Jan 2022, 17:40

hoang031099,
delete the Sound.ini in your Mods folder.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 18689
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby hoang031099 » 26 Jan 2022, 18:01

Thank you for your help. It works perfectly.
hoang031099
tennis fan
tennis fan
 
Messages: 10
Gaming Since: 26 Jan 2022, 15:37

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby Mystery » 03 Feb 2022, 03:57

Very nice work Emmanuel
Major Titles:
· Australian Open 2023
· Wimbledon 2021, 2023
· US Open 2022, 2023
· World Tour Finals 2022

Tour Moderator
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/Mystery_Yale
User avatar
Mystery
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 357
Gaming Since: 24 Apr 2020, 11:29
Location: United States

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby liquidwhip » 05 Feb 2022, 02:43

@Manu

I think I got my hit and grunt sounds to work correctly following your described method.

I have a couple of questions for you. I'm trying to get my Australian Open court (AO) to work with custom sounds.

1. Do I need to create a Sound.ini file for Strike sounds too in my Hit_AO if I have more than three sounds for each of the low, med, strong hits. If yes, would it look something like below?

Code: Select all
[SoundFxAc]
Hit_Low    =   Hit_Low1, Hit_Low2, Hit_Low3, Hit_Low4, Hit_Low5, Hit_Low6, Hit_Low7, Hit_Low8, Hit_Low9
Hit_Med    =   Hit_Med1, Hit_Med2, Hit_Med3, Hit_Med4, Hit_Med5, Hit_Med6, Hit_Med7, Hit_Med8, Hit_Med9, Hit_Med10
Hit_Str    =   Hit_Str1, Hit_Str2, Hit_Str3, Hit_Str4, Hit_Str5, Hit_Str6, Hit_Str7, Hit_Str8, Hit_Str9, Hit_Str10


2. Following up on the Question #1 - For some reason my serve sound does not play even though I have made a Serve_AO folder. Is below what my Sound.ini in this folder should look? Am I using the correct terms in my sound.ini file?

Code: Select all
[SoundFxAc]
Serve_Low  =   Serve_Low1, Serve_Low2, Serve_Low3, Serve_Low4, Serve_Low5, Serve_Low6
Serve_Med  =   Serve_Med1, Serve_Med2, Serve_Med3, Serve_Med4, Serve_Med5, Serve_Med6, Serve_Med7
Serve_Str  =   Serve_Str1, Serve_Str2, Serve_Str3, Serve_Str4, Serve_Str5, Serve_Str6, Serve_Str7


3. How about Crowd/Applause sound? How should I go about modding those?

Please let me know whenever it's possible for you. I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks for all the work you put in.
liquidwhip
tennis curious
 
Messages: 4
Gaming Since: 28 Feb 2017, 20:36

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby manutoo » 05 Feb 2022, 07:05

liquidwhip,

1) Yes & yes, except the entries are like this :
Code: Select all
Hit_Soft        =   Hit_Low1, Hit_Low2, Hit_Low3
Hit_Medium      =   Hit_Med1, Hit_Med2, Hit_Med3
Hit_Strong      =   Hit_Str1, Hit_Str2, Hit_Str3

(the filename can be anything you want)

2) Same as above, your entry names aren't correct, just look in the Specifics/Ini/Sound.ini to find the existing ones :
Code: Select all
Service_Soft    =   Service_Low
Service_Medium  =   Service_Med
Service_Strong  =   Service_Str


3) For the crowd sounds, you just put them in the "Sounds" folder. Would you like to have different crowd sounds depending on the court ?
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 18689
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby liquidwhip » 05 Feb 2022, 13:48

Thanks so much Manu. I had a feeling the issue was incorrect entry names.

I am probably going to use the same crowd sounds for all courts. I'll put them in the sounds folder and see if it works. Will update you soon.

Thanks again.

PS: Do let me know if you need help with any graphic design aspect of the game (though it seems you have things covered). I'm a graphic designer.
liquidwhip
tennis curious
 
Messages: 4
Gaming Since: 28 Feb 2017, 20:36

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby mats15 » 03 Mar 2022, 15:20

What if sound is still not working after update in february? I've edited the game. I deleted sound.ini from mods folder and it still doesn't work. Music is playing but there is no other sounds. Any help?
mats15
tennis fan
tennis fan
 
Messages: 15
Gaming Since: 14 Jul 2012, 15:53

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby manutoo » 04 Mar 2022, 06:19

mats15,
the common mistake is to have the Modding SDK inside the Mods folder ; if you have done that, then remove it. If not, then send me a Bug Report. (HowTo => topic5-31732.php )
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 18689
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby Left Foot Brake » 24 Oct 2022, 12:33

Okay - next step that I am confused by....

I want to change the Crowd, Net and Fault sounds in my court, "Manu_Stadium" but let's just use the net as an example to start with.

I have my Courts\Stadiums\ folder I have the relevant "Manu_Stadium" folder with the icon, court and stadium.ini files in it.
It has it's own surface, so in Courts\Surfaces\Manu_Stadium it has the icon.png and surface.ini files.
In the surface.ini, under [Sound] I have selected Hit, Serve, Bounce and Skid sounds which I am happy with... but I want to now change the sound of the net.
I have the sound file I want for the net and it's called "Net_Manu.wav".

Simply adding Net = Net_Manu under [Sound] doesn't work, so I tried to specify a global folder for this court. I added this to the surface.ini with the Hit, Serve, Bounce and Skid entries below;

[Sound]
Global = Court_Manu_Stadium
Hit = Hit_Big_Arena
Serve = Serve_Big_Arena
Bounce = Bounce_Marble_Floor
Skid = Skid_Marble_Floor


I created a new folder called Court_Manu_Stadium and placed it in my Sounds folder. I put Net_Manu.wav in there and a copy of Sound.ini with this in it

[SoundFxAc]
Net = Net_Manu


And nothing, I'm hearing the generic default sounds from the Sounds folder. I added the folder "Court_Manu_Stadium" to the BuiltinFolderList.txt... still nothing.
I tried adding a copy of Net_Manu.wav in the Sounds\Court_Manu_Stadium folder called Net.wav and deleted the Sound.ini but this didn't work either.
I made sure the Sound.ini was deleted from the Sounds Folder but no luck. I made lots of nets with varied textures and materials, so I want to be able to reflect that in the sound of the ball hitting the net.

Anybody know what I'm doing wrong? I really need to change the fault calls, I hit the ball out so much I'm sick of hearing the same ones and the crowd noises too.... help... too stupid to work it out from the SDK. :oops:
Last edited by Left Foot Brake on 24 Oct 2022, 13:19, edited 1 time in total.
Left Foot Brake
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 24
Gaming Since: 04 Aug 2022, 14:49
Location: Australia

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby manutoo » 24 Oct 2022, 13:10

Left Foot Brake,
as shown by the lack of "net" term in the 1st post, the system currently doesn't support customizing the net sound based on the surface nor the stadium.

I just added that for the next update ; you can add this in your Stadium.ini (or your Surface.ini) :
Code: Select all
[Sound]
Net      =   Net_MySuperStadium
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 18689
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: New way to Mod sound in TE4

Postby Left Foot Brake » 24 Oct 2022, 13:21

Thankyou Manu, I'm sorry to waste your time - I must not have read the post correctly. Great news about the net sounds, though! Thankyou very much! Now... about those crowd and fault sounds for each stadium.... ':D
Left Foot Brake
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 24
Gaming Since: 04 Aug 2022, 14:49
Location: Australia


Return to Modding - TE4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest