[TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Everything about Modding the game, from new courts to the modifications of the player & tournament bases (and including all the bugs they may be creating ! ;) )

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby wilddog79 » 22 Jun 2021, 09:14

Davyd_1982 wrote:My friend, you need to activate DEV MODE on the tennis.ini in your Tennis Elbow 4 game to these key shortcuts appear in your game, I have tested this right now and when you activate the dev mode and go to the game controls settings you can see these shortcuts to edit your court lines !!!



I have DevMode enabled

When you tell me activate DevMode you mean the line that we find inside of Tennis.ini, this last one file is located in the TE4 root, right?

I don't know what step i'm making bad or if the game is with some bug, or maybe some update.

Image'
wilddog79
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 315
Gaming Since: 08 May 2017, 04:32

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby Davyd_1982 » 22 Jun 2021, 10:54

No my friend, forget the TE4 root directory, in Tennis Elbow 4 the directory to put your mods and for you edit the mods.ini and tennis.ini is =

C:\Users\Your User Name\AppData\LocalLow\Mana Games\Tennis Elbow 4

Only work with this folder in Tennis Elbow 4 to mod your game !!!
Davyd_1982
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 109
Gaming Since: 30 Jun 2020, 10:09
Location: Florianópolis, Brazil

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby manutoo » 22 Jun 2021, 13:53

wilddog79,
if you have created a Profile, change "Profiles\<NameOfYourProfile>.ini .
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 17649
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby wilddog79 » 22 Jun 2021, 16:37

Davyd_1982 wrote:No my friend, forget the TE4 root directory, in Tennis Elbow 4 the directory to put your mods and for you edit the mods.ini and tennis.ini is =

C:\Users\Your User Name\AppData\LocalLow\Mana Games\Tennis Elbow 4

Only work with this folder in Tennis Elbow 4 to mod your game !!!


When I say TE4 root I obviously refer to "AppData\LocalLow\Mana Games\Tennis Elbow 4" so of course i'm working there, but thank you for your support.
wilddog79
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 315
Gaming Since: 08 May 2017, 04:32

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby wilddog79 » 22 Jun 2021, 17:05

manutoo wrote:wilddog79,
if you have created a Profile, change "Profiles\<NameOfYourProfile>.ini .


I finally I think have found the solution with your tip, I edited the "NameOfMyProfile.ini (I wrote it like that to give you an example as you made it) then I changed the of DevMode 0 to 1 and in shortcuts appeared the keys, now I will work with it and we will see the results.

Note: What happened that in TE2013 the DevMode to modifiy was in Tennis.ini but in the TE2013 root. With TE4 the DevMode to modify is editing the NameOfMyProfile.ini file located in the Profiles folder and not tennis.ini, at least in my case it works like that.
wilddog79
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 315
Gaming Since: 08 May 2017, 04:32

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby wilddog79 » 22 Jun 2021, 20:09

I was working with camera movements and all working perfect, but once that I have the camera adjusted after save changes, then I close the game and enter to the game I see the camera not adjusted. The changes clearly are not beeing saved and I don´t know why.

Before

Image



After

Image


Could you tell me what step I will be making not correctly please?
wilddog79
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 315
Gaming Since: 08 May 2017, 04:32

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby Davyd_1982 » 23 Jun 2021, 02:24

Did you press the 9 on numpad and saved the court line changes ?

After this you need to open your tennis.ini of the profile that you used to edit your new court lines and copy the camera settings and paste in your court.ini !!!
Davyd_1982
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 109
Gaming Since: 30 Jun 2020, 10:09
Location: Florianópolis, Brazil

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby manutoo » 23 Jun 2021, 06:02

wilddog79,
you should not copy the whole TEM2 Modding SDK folder into your Mods folder, else you'll have some issues later on. Only copy the files you want to change.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 17649
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby wilddog79 » 23 Jun 2021, 09:12

Davyd_1982 wrote:Did you press the 9 on numpad and saved the court line changes ?

After this you need to open your tennis.ini of the profile that you used to edit your new court lines and copy the camera settings and paste in your court.ini !!!



what does Tennis.ini file are you talking about of? ,In TE4 the camera movements and adjust of lines of the court are saved inside of C:\Users\XXXXXX\AppData\LocalLow\Mana Games\Tennis Elbow 4\Profiles\"nameofmyprofile.ini" ==> [Camera] ......

According to what I checked Tennis.ini doesn't has noone function in TE4, but this ini file had direct relation with DevMode and camera movements with TE2013.


I hope my appreciation is right because it's what I have verified, but i still have problems saving camera movements in relation with adjusting court's lines. TE2013 wasn't so complicated to the moment of modding, but TE4 has been very confusing for me, beause it has generated one problem after another, and I haven't seen a post where they explain clearly from a little detail to something more specific.


I think the people really interested of modding of the managames community, could deserve a post good detailed and not something simple explained in broad strokes.

Note: It's said by someone who is a fan of tennis, fan of TE2013 and now TE4, and with a lot of humility when commenting.
wilddog79
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 315
Gaming Since: 08 May 2017, 04:32

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby wilddog79 » 23 Jun 2021, 20:00

manutoo wrote:wilddog79,
you should not copy the whole TEM2 Modding SDK folder into your Mods folder, else you'll have some issues later on. Only copy the files you want to change.


Yes, in fact i removed the other folders and I only keep Ini and Courts folders, but I still can't save changes with adjust of cameras and I really I don't understand why.
wilddog79
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 315
Gaming Since: 08 May 2017, 04:32

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby manutoo » 24 Jun 2021, 05:57

wilddog79,
When someone says "your Tennis.ini", it means your profile .ini if you have created one ; it was the same in TE2013. Your profile .ini replaces the tennis.ini and has exactly the same functionalities.

Everything works the same in TE4 as in TE2013 except for the new things explained in the "2D Court" section here : topic11-31376.php .

Once you have saved your camera with the correct key (by default, it's Right Control + Keypad 9), be sure to exit the game with the in-game exit button, not the cross on the top-right of the game window (if you play in windowed mode), else your Tennis.ini won't be saved.

And lastly, don't forget to follow the last step stated in the Modding SDK explanation : "For a 2D court whose camera has been set within TEM2/TE4".
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 17649
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby wilddog79 » 24 Jun 2021, 10:14

The true that I made all you have mentioned to me, but there is no way, it doesn't work the part of "Save Changes" I mean Right Control + Keypad 9, and I thought that could be my laptop's keyboard, but I have other one that's a wireless usb keyboard that I usually use instead of the other one, I swear that I never had a problem like this, it's incredible, but well, I think this is already over me.


Anyway Thanks for all.
wilddog79
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 315
Gaming Since: 08 May 2017, 04:32

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby manutoo » 25 Jun 2021, 06:39

I just tested and everything was saved correctly in my Tennis.ini .

Try to assign a new Key to "Camera - Save" in the Shortcuts, for example "S", to avoid any issue with the key modifier.

I also just added for the next version a line in the Player.log, each time you'll press the "Camera - Save" key, starting with "Camera for 2D Court: put this in your Court.ini, under [Camera]". To see the log, click on Settings -> Profile -> Show Engine Log.
Like this, it'll avoid any Tennis.ini save issue.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 17649
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby wilddog79 » 25 Jun 2021, 21:36

I finally could to find the problem, It was directly in my profile.ini or as you say tennis.ini.

[Camera] ==> copy values from CustomFocal to CustomFocal in Court_Mod.ini and then rename CustomFocal to Focal.
wilddog79
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 315
Gaming Since: 08 May 2017, 04:32

Re: [TE4] 2D courts from TE2013 ?

Postby wilddog79 » 26 Jun 2021, 09:27

I created the "Viking Open Nottingham Challenger" I mean that I have created the court.jpg, the next step that I made was go to C:\Users\XXXXX\AppData\LocalLow\Mana Games\Tennis Elbow 4\Mods\MySuperMod\Courts\Court02 folder, where I replaced the old jpg court file for the new one that I created, i have these values by default inside of the Court_Mod.ini

[Data]
LinesColor = 0xF0F0F0F0


[Camera]
Angle = -28.9402620288166
Focal = 1.16335082054138
Dist = 1849
Height = 559
Translation = 0
Custom = 1 // Set this to 1 to use 2D Camera settings from the Court.ini (if there are defined, else use settings from this section) for the 3D camera
AutoClearCustom = 1 // Clear Custom Camera on Camera Setting Changes
ForceSunInBack = 1 // 1 => Force Sun To Go in Back of Camera
Aperture = 0.72
Elevation = 0.48
Mode = 3
Zoom = 0.0400002002716064
ZoomStart = 0
AspectRatio = 1.6
FollowMode = 0

I obviously enabled before the DevMode 0 ==> 1 to move the cameras. I think have checked all possible problem but I don't know what happen again.

Note: With these values by default for example I used to start to adjust the cameras' movements. On the another hand, I thought that maybe it would be the very big size of the jpg, because initially had a weight of 3,x mb, then I left it with 1,40 mb, the same weight of the other courts that are working without problems.


The image of the court launched for the game instead of the created by me

Image


Created by me

Image


I don't know why I always have problems with modding.

I hope you manutoo can help me, because you know too many about this game.
Last edited by wilddog79 on 26 Jun 2021, 09:45, edited 2 times in total.
wilddog79
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 315
Gaming Since: 08 May 2017, 04:32

PreviousNext

Return to Modding - TE4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot [Bot] and 0 guests