manutoo wrote:LetsGoBro & MarkChan,
this issue is the post : topic37-19739.php#p202391 .
It was written immediately after the match was suspended, and it's a clear consent to go on later. If he had wrote : "vampireZattitude left without my consent, I want this to be counted as a retirement", then that would have been a different story. (*)
There's also another issue : it's that Kuga didn't use the built-in RL system because he wanted to raise the chance of Markchan (to do a 50/50). Maybe he cheated the result, maybe not ; I guess at this point there's no evidence either way.
And no, we're not going to replay the whole season... The only changeable thing at this point is the Davis Cup final (as PK is in final). I can't talk for Algo, but I have a strong guess that he'll put in final the country that lost against PK...
(*) Quick tip: don't sweat on the commas in the rules ; here we're respect the spirit of the rules, not necessarily the letter ; if you can't get that, then don't even try to argue... In the present case, it means that everything that is written in the rules must be done in case a player leaves the match and then contest the protestation of his opponent.
From another point of view, instant consent then delayed protestation = possible trick, so it won't count.
Oops, I was so focused on the posts below that I didn't see the first few posts. Well in that case, the issue is a grey area because whether or not Mark meant it in that manner remains to be known. Perhaps he didn't mean it that way, and in the heat of the moment it probably didn't come out the way he wanted it. But unfortunately the specific words used doesn't help his cause irrespective of which way we look at it, so I agree, it makes it sound implied. I suppose there's a good lesson in these circumstances: choose your words wisely.
Still, his opponent is not out of the woods either. She breached the opening stages of the rule: "If you start a match, be able to end it ; if you only have a short available time, tell your opponent before starting the match...". I can assume two things; she ignored this rule deliberately and hoped to get away with it, OR she had an oversight and didn't know about this rule. Whatever the case, she should at least be warned about this breach, but it definitely should not be ignored.
Keep in mind that I have no intention to defend either Mark or Vampire. I'm merely speculating this issue at my angle. Food for thought.
As for replaying the whole season, obviously not because we have no time for this. But I'm suggesting for the more recent ones (eg. Shanghai), perhaps they should be looked into. As for DC, yes, it's a no-brainer that Croatia should be in the final.