was it from a saved game ? Or did you start a new game ?
If the former, it could be because he already got a better-ranked doubles partner and thus it's that partner who decides to register for the tournaments. If he leaves him, then he shouldn't play doubles after anymore.
Or maybe there's an actual bug ; I'll try to look into it tomorrow.