Tennis Elbow Error Message: "Can't create connection'

Everything about your online tennis matches !

Tennis Elbow Error Message: "Can't create connection'

Postby russb » 16 Jul 2006, 22:31

Hello,

I am evaluating a demo version of Tennis Elbow 2006 for compatiblity with my computer. I would like to play with another computer on my home network, and eventually over the Internet.

When I select "Host Game" and then "Create Game", I receive the error message "An error occurred, can't create connection."

Windows Firewall is configured to allow TennisElbow.exe, and also to open UDP 4321. My LinkSys router is also configured for port forwarding for UDP 4321. My computer is running Windows XP SP2.

Do you have any idea what the error could be?

Thanks,

Russ
russb
tennis curious
 
Messages: 2
Gaming Since: 16 Jul 2006, 19:59

Postby manutoo » 17 Jul 2006, 09:24

Hello,

ok, this kind of error is not due from your firewall or router.
It's from the basic initialization. I guess it can happen when you don't have network interface, or it's misconfigured, or something like that.

Do you have DirectX 9.0c ?
If not, could you try to install it ?
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/direct ... downloads/

Else, could you open the "System.log" file from your Tennis Elbow directory (usually, under "C:\Program Files\Tennis Elbow 2006\"), and copy/paste its content here ..?
(do this just after have seen the error message and have quit the game)
Hopefully, it should contain some more detailed error info.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15589
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Same Error

Postby Paz » 18 Jul 2006, 00:28

I get exactly the same error as above, I have two machines running the game and both of them get the same error. And yes I have directx 9.0c in both of those. Here follows the System.log for one of my machines:

Code: Select all
===> GameSys Init <=== (version: 1.0.95; date: Jul 14 2006; time: 12:07:41)
   CpuName: Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor         1500MHz
   CPU Id: x86 Family 6 Model 9 Stepping 5 (GenuineIntel)
   Speed: 1500 mhz; RAM: 239 MB
   OS: Microsoft Windows XP v5.1 build #2600 (Service Pack 2)
   Connected to Internet : INTERNET_CONNECTION_LAN
   DirectX version: 9.0 (0x00090000)
   Opened Pak 'Data\Pak01.Pak', with 802 files inside
[...]
=====> 3D engine init <=====
   3dEngine Init; version: 2.00.90; date: Jul 11 2006; time: 22:52:48
Warning: Strncpy cut 'Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller' to 'Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Gra'
   DDD - Name: Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller; Device: ialmrnt5.dll
[...]
===> TE2006 Init <=== (version: 1.0a; build: 18; date: Jul 17 2006; time: 14:09:54)
[...]
=====> DirectPlay Network init <=====
   Found 1 Service Provider(s) (size required for info = 126 bytes)
   Service Provider 0: Conexão de rede sem fio - IPv4 - 192.168.1.100
   Address built: 'x-directplay:/provider=%7BEBFE7BA0-628D-11D2-AE0F-006097B01411%7D;port=4321'
Error: Hosting failed (code = n/a)
=== Exit from Menu Action ===
   Mem available for Textures: 44 MB

=====> Exit GameSys <=====
[...]
Paz
Guest
 

Update

Postby Paz » 18 Jul 2006, 04:47

Ok, so I got the connection to work and now it's creating the game.

The problem is the other machine in the lan won't see the game and thus I can't connect.

I have two machines in the lan with ips 192.168.1.100 and 192.168.1.3

Either one can create the game but the other won't see it.
Paz
Guest
 

Postby manutoo » 18 Jul 2006, 08:09

Humm, very strange, DirectX was not able to initialize the connection, but it can't explain why... :?

What did you change so the host creation worked at last ? (please, don't forget to answer this, maybe it'll help russb to fixe his trouble, too!)

Can both of ur PCs see each other on the Network ?
If you have shared folders, can you browse them without problem ?

Maybe this time, you should check your firewall ?
Are you connected to Internet ? If yes, is the connection test working ?
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15589
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Able to create connection

Postby russb » 20 Jul 2006, 19:59

Now I can host a game without the "Can't create connection" error. The only thing different that I noticed was I happened to have my internet browser opened. I closed that, tried again to host a game, and was still successful.

So I am not sure what changed between the time I got the error and my success.

However, both machines can host a game, but neither can see the other. On a network level, both machines can see each other and can access each other's shared folders.

As described in my previous posting, I have configured my firewall (on both machines) to allow TennisElbow.exe access, and to open port UDP 4321. I also set port forwarding on the LinkSys router for UDP 4321, although I don't know if that's necessary when I am using 2 local computers. The server connection test works and returns about 70ms.

I do have DirectX 9.0c on both machines.

Russ
russb
tennis curious
 
Messages: 2
Gaming Since: 16 Jul 2006, 19:59

Postby manutoo » 21 Jul 2006, 07:23

Humm, it's very strange...

Did you try with the "join distant game" method ?
Enter the host IP followed by ":" (without the quote) and the port number; example :
192.168.1.100:4321

Else maybe your router creates some interferences... could you try to unplug it for a test ?
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15589
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Same Problem

Postby Pazuzu47 » 05 Aug 2006, 00:31

manutoo wrote:Humm, it's very strange...

Did you try with the "join distant game" method ?
Enter the host IP followed by ":" (without the quote) and the port number; example :
192.168.1.100:4321

Else maybe your router creates some interferences... could you try to unplug it for a test ?


I have exactly the same problem. I think I know what the reason is:

We want to play in the local network, not through the internet.

I think this software is coded so that you must authenticate through the internet server to play, and lacking a mode so that I connect directly to a machine in my lan without contacting any server.
Pazuzu47
Guest
 

Postby manutoo » 05 Aug 2006, 13:59

Hello,

the online authentication is only required to play online game, it should not prevent any LAN game.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15589
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Lan Game

Postby Pazuzu47 » 10 Aug 2006, 04:58

Well, it surely does not work.

I play tons of other games normally in my lan: counterstrike, warcraft, fifa soccer, and others and they all work normally.
Pazuzu47
Guest
 

Postby manutoo » 10 Aug 2006, 07:48

ok, but it works fine here... ;)

Do you have DirectX 9.0c on both PC ? Both use port 4321 ?
And did you try the "join distant game" method ?
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15589
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France


Return to Online Tennis Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot [Bot] and 0 guests