Infinite ping

Everything about your online tennis matches !

Infinite ping

Postby IvoP123 » 30 Nov 2012, 00:17

I have problem joining other players games. The problem is that I almost always have +Inf ping when I try to join same game. On the other hand, the same person that hosted the game i couldn't join (with +Inf ping), can join the game that I host (and almost always the ping is less than 200 ms). This is pretty annoying. Anything I can do?
IvoP123
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 9
Gaming Since: 23 Nov 2012, 21:05
Location: Croatia

Re: Infinite ping

Postby manutoo » 30 Nov 2012, 03:50

Hello,

this probably mean that your opponent didn't forward/open his UDP Port 4321 , so you cannot do anything on your side.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15789
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: Infinite ping

Postby IvoP123 » 02 Dec 2012, 20:27

yesterday there were 8 games available to join and all of them had +Inf ping. That's pretty strange...
IvoP123
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 9
Gaming Since: 23 Nov 2012, 21:05
Location: Croatia

Re: Infinite ping

Postby manutoo » 03 Dec 2012, 02:40

Ok, in that case you probably have an issue with your network configuration.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15789
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: Infinite ping

Postby IvoP123 » 03 Dec 2012, 14:38

Any advises on what could I do? Cause I don't have idea how to solve this
IvoP123
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 9
Gaming Since: 23 Nov 2012, 21:05
Location: Croatia

Re: Infinite ping

Postby manutoo » 04 Dec 2012, 05:32

As usually : check your firewall & router configuration ; ie: start by turning off your firewall, and read the documentation of your router.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15789
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Possible solution for your issue.

Postby Tristan von Blomberg » 04 Dec 2012, 08:50

If you want to allow that program to communicate through the firewall, you can usually do that by selecting the program on the Exceptions tab in Windows Firewall. By default, most programs are blocked by Windows Firewall, to help make your computer more secure. To work properly, some programs might require you to allow them to communicate through the firewall. Here's how to do that:

  • Open Windows Firewall by clicking the Start button ? Control Panel ? Security ? Windows Firewall.
  • In the left pane, click Allow a program through Windows Firewall. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
  • Select the check box next to Tennis Elbow 2011, and then click OK.
However, if Tennis Elbow 2011 isn't listed on this, you might need to open a port (default 4321). You might need to add this port for the game so that the firewall allows the game information to reach your computer. Unlike an exception, which is only open during the time that it is needed, a port stays open all the time, so be sure to close ports that you don't need anymore.

  • Open Windows Firewall by clicking the Start button ? Control Panel ? Security ? Windows Firewall.
  • Click Allow a program through Windows Firewall. If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
  • Click Add port.
  • In the Name box, type a name that will help you remember what the port is used for.
  • In the Port number box, type the port number (default 4321).
  • Click TCP or UDP, depending on the protocol.
  • To change scope for the port, click Change scope, and then click the option that you want to use. ("Scope" refers to the set of computers that can use this port opening.)

I hope to have helped you with your issue and look forward to your feedback.
Tristan von Blomberg
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 25
Gaming Since: 03 Dec 2012, 09:17
Location: Switzerland

Re: Infinite ping

Postby IvoP123 » 06 Dec 2012, 18:58

Thanks for replies! However, problems with firewall can appear only if I host the game (or am I wrong?). I have no problems when I host, only when I join the game. Tennis elbow is in exclusion list in firewall and I opened the TCP and UDP 4321 port in firewall but that doesn't have effect when I try to join the game. Everybody still has +Inf ping... I also tried to turn off firewall and join the game but no help...
IvoP123
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 9
Gaming Since: 23 Nov 2012, 21:05
Location: Croatia

Re: Infinite ping

Postby manutoo » 07 Dec 2012, 05:11

IvoP123,
if you turned off your firewall and it's still not working, then it might be an issue with your router working in a exotic way. Read its documentation to try to figure out what's going on.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15789
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: Infinite ping

Postby IvoP123 » 29 Jan 2013, 12:58

i just noticed recently i can join some games. i don't know if i could before because these games appear rarely and i stopped trying to join month ago.
for example, yesterday evening there were 6 games available and one of them was green and ping was not +inf. Some day before i saw two games i could join.
This is pretty weird. Do you know perhaps is there any reason why i can join some and some not (even though others can join them without a problem)?
Problem with my router is that i have telsey cpl7 which is some pretty shitty router i guess cause google can't find almost nothing about this (no documentation also).
IvoP123
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 9
Gaming Since: 23 Nov 2012, 21:05
Location: Croatia

Re: Infinite ping

Postby manutoo » 30 Jan 2013, 05:15

If you feel adventurous, try to set your router in bridge mode instead of router mode, and create the PPPoe connection on your PC instead than in your router.
Before to that, take screenshots of all your router settings, so if it fails you could restore them easily.
Note: if you don't have decent computer skills, don't try that ;)
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15789
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France


Return to Online Tennis Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot [Bot] and 0 guests