How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

General discussions about the 1st version of Tennis Elbow Manager

How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

Postby Curtis » 14 Apr 2011, 01:46

I see that this is possible, or changing it to five rounds, but I haven't seen how it is accomplished.

Is it something that would need to be done at the beginning of a game? I know that many of the changes require to start a new game.

How do I schedule the extra rounds? Are there specific weeks they should be in, or just anytime after the U.S. Open, when the schedule slows down?
Curtis
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 114
Gaming Since: 03 Nov 2008, 22:07
Location: Watertown, New York

Re: How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

Postby manutoo » 14 Apr 2011, 06:39

Hello,

you can add a round anywhere you want ; just copy/paste another round ; you'll have to remove other tournaments, to not run out of players, though.

But, I'm not sure if having 6 rounds will be ok in the menu or not (for the draws, etc...) ; hopefully, it shouldn't crash, though... :fear:
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15786
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

Postby Curtis » 14 Apr 2011, 11:15

My game currently has 52 nations with two or more female players. That is enough for five rounds at least. What steps do I have to take to change the Federation Cup from four rounds to five?

From what you wrote above, you are not certain that the game will automatically assign byes if there are six rounds, but fewer than 64 nations?
Curtis
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 114
Gaming Since: 03 Nov 2008, 22:07
Location: Watertown, New York

Re: How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

Postby manutoo » 15 Apr 2011, 06:08

You can't have Bye in the Davis Cup draw. If there's not enough countries, you should get a pop up telling u so, and the game will exit.

You may need to lower the number of rounds for the Lower division also (Qualies in the TourCategory.ini).
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15786
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

Postby Curtis » 15 Apr 2011, 08:09

All right, let me see if I understand this. As you designed it, it says: Category 16 / Type TeamCup / number of qualifying rounds 3

The number of nations in the main draw is 16, so the number of nations in the lower division is 16. With three rounds of qualifiers, that means 2 qualifying nations make it to the main draw (Upper Division?), so a total of 30 nations in the Federation Cup.

If I change the main draw to 32 nations and reduce qualifying rounds to one, that would mean 32 nations in the lower division with 16 qualifying to the main draw, and a total of 48 nations in the tournament. There are 52 nations with two or more ranked women, so that should work.

The question becomes, how do I change the main draw to 32? I know how to change the number of qualifying rounds.
Curtis
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 114
Gaming Since: 03 Nov 2008, 22:07
Location: Watertown, New York

Re: How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

Postby manutoo » 16 Apr 2011, 07:39

Davis Cup doesn't use qualifiers ; instead it has Playoff ; right now, there are 16 upper + 32 lower = 48 total teams ; if you add 1 round without lowering number of qualies rounds, you'll need 96 countries ; with 2 qualies rounds, u'll need 64 countries.

To add a round, read my explanation in previous messages.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15786
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

Postby Curtis » 16 Apr 2011, 09:44

manutoo wrote:Right now, there are 16 upper + 32 lower = 48 total teams,


Apparently I don't understand this Upper/Lower thing at all, however if there are 48 teams playing in the Federation Cup (even though only 16 show up on my screen), that's all I want, so I'll just leave it alone. Thank you.
Curtis
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 114
Gaming Since: 03 Nov 2008, 22:07
Location: Watertown, New York

Re: How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

Postby manutoo » 17 Apr 2011, 05:29

To see the lower division, go to the Davis Cup draw, and click on the "Final / Qualies" button on top right of the screen. That should help u to get it how it works..! ;)
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15786
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Upper/Lower Divisions

Postby Curtis » 17 Apr 2011, 07:35

:blackeye: So, I tried that. Clicking that button takes me to a page that says, "Federation Cup hasn't started yet." It's week 10, and I've already beaten Russia 4-1 in the first round. :lol:

Thank you for trying, but I'll just settle for your assurance that there are 48 teams involved and leave it alone. :whistle:
Curtis
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 114
Gaming Since: 03 Nov 2008, 22:07
Location: Watertown, New York

Re: How do you change Federation Cup from four rounds to six

Postby manutoo » 18 Apr 2011, 05:39

That's coz Lower Division 1st round starts only with the Upper Division 2nd round. Check it again by then ! :)
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15786
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France


Return to Tennis Elbow Manager 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot [Bot] and 0 guests