High CPU/GPU load in the menus in World Tour Mode

the place to report any bug met in the game

High CPU/GPU load in the menus in World Tour Mode

Postby MRGreeny74 » 16 Jan 2022, 00:38

I would like to report a technical problem. When I play 3D matches on the highest graphical settings, the game runs very smoothly and the CPU/GPU load is very low. However, when I look at the world rankings or tournament trees in World Tour mode, the CPU/GPU load increases noticeably although there should be no reason for this.

Is there a way to reduce the CPU/GPU load in the menus in World Tour Mode* ?

*Outside of the menus in World Tour mode (i.e. Practice Mode, Character Sheets), there is no high CPU/GPU load.
MRGreeny74
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 21
Gaming Since: 14 Sep 2016, 17:08

Re: High CPU/GPU load in the menus in World Tour Mode

Postby manutoo » 16 Jan 2022, 09:21

Hello,

I guess you should enable V-Sync in the Video settings, if it's not the case..?

Else, did you change the MaxFps value in your Tennis.ini ?
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 17404
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: High CPU/GPU load in the menus in World Tour Mode

Postby MRGreeny74 » 16 Jan 2022, 13:22

Hi manutoo,

I have V-Sync enabled in the game and have not changed anything in the tennis.ini. The game runs constantly at 60 FPS without any problems. The only problem is that in the menus, especially when I look at the world rankings, the fans of my graphics card and CPU start to get loud. It seems like the game is calculating something in the background even though I'm only looking at text.

- I have the latest version of the game (Steam) with the latest update. I don't have this problem in any other game except this one.

- I use the *.ini directory from the TE4 modding SDK to have real player names in the game, and the *.txt directory to correct some descriptions in the game. But even if I delete the mod directory it doesn't solve the problem.
MRGreeny74
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 21
Gaming Since: 14 Sep 2016, 17:08

Re: High CPU/GPU load in the menus in World Tour Mode

Postby MRGreeny74 » 16 Jan 2022, 23:01

I have investigated the matter again more closely, and now know what the problem is.

When I start TE4 and go directly into World Tour Mode and then look at the world rankings, there is no high GPU/CPU load. If I play a 3D match and look at the world ranking after the match then there is a high GPU/CPU load.

Conclusion: Once I have played a 3D match, the GPU/CPU load in the world ranking menu increases significantly, otherwise it does not.
MRGreeny74
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 21
Gaming Since: 14 Sep 2016, 17:08

Re: High CPU/GPU load in the menus in World Tour Mode

Postby manutoo » 17 Jan 2022, 11:39

I thought it could mean that the 3D court was displayed behind the menus in such a case, but after checking that, it shouldn't be the case. However, the camera processes some stuff (ie: it dismisses everything on every frame to avoid to render them :P ), so it could be a tiny bit heavier on the CPU, but that would be strange to be enough to create such an effect, so I'm not sure it's the cause or not... :fear:

[... more checking ...]

So I checked the CPU & GPU utilisation : for the GPU, it goes up to 42% from 41% on that screen (after & before the 3d Match). For the CPU, there's not much difference either, but there's a big jump from 1% in the main to 4% (I have 32 cores, so I guess on one core it might be like jumping from 25% to 100% or something like that). And the main menu GPU usage is 24%

So anyway, the Rankings and the Draw are indeed menus that use a lot the CPU (and a bit more of GPU) because they contain a lot of elements that are recalculated on each frame. It's much simple to handle for me. :blackeye:

So I guess that after a while, even without playing a 3D match 1st, your CPU (and maybe GPU) should heat up and the fans should go up.

I hope it's not too much of a hassle for you..?
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 17404
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: High CPU/GPU load in the menus in World Tour Mode

Postby MRGreeny74 » 17 Jan 2022, 14:47

Thank you very much for your detailed comment on this matter. I belong to the group of players who love to study the world rankings a little longer. I love statistics. However, I also like it when the fans in my Computer are not running at full speed when I look at such statistics. Basically, this only puts an unnecessary load on the PC.

Of course, the problem is not game-breaking, but it would make the game experience much more pleasant if the computing load was not so high when looking at the world rankings or the tournament trees. I think most players only look at these stats very briefly and therefore hardly notice the high load, but as I said, I'm not one of them.

It would be great if you could do something about it. Thanks again for the detailed comment on this matter :D .
MRGreeny74
court crocodile
court crocodile
 
Messages: 21
Gaming Since: 14 Sep 2016, 17:08

Re: High CPU/GPU load in the menus in World Tour Mode

Postby manutoo » 18 Jan 2022, 11:20

Sorry, bad news : I checked with the profiler (which show what exact code parts take time on the CPU), and this reminded me why it was slow like this ; Unity (the engine I'm using) is preventing me to scale things nicely with its GUI rendering, so I add to use a low-level rendering which is actually quite slow as it requires a lot of work on the CPU.

I tested with the Unity GUI rendering, and I got about 75% more fps in the Unity editor (it can be quite different in a release build, though), and gives the following result, with black lines everywhere and wrong coloring (coz the texture format between the 2 isn't exactly the same).

There's nothing else I could do to improve the performances without months of work. :fear:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 17404
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France


Return to TE - Bug & Glitch Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot [Bot] and 0 guests