What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

the place to report any bug met in the game

What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby CC » 16 Dec 2009, 07:35

ManuTOO,

Look at my player. He is holding his head down and standing ready to return, but no one wants to play with him:
Image .

This must be the same bug that keeps corrupting the .ini file. The game was fine the last time that I had played it; after a couple of days, I opened the game this evening and selected to play a match with the CPU. This image is what I saw. My normal player is not there at all (I wear a red shirt, use left hand, etc.). I usually don't play with my head down, either ;) .
CC
User avatar
CC
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 503
Gaming Since: 17 May 2008, 23:54
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby CC » 16 Dec 2009, 07:46

Hmmm. This is worse than I thought. I looked at the picture again, and it isn't that my player has his head down; it is that, he has no head!

:fear: :fear: :fear: :fear:
CC
User avatar
CC
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 503
Gaming Since: 17 May 2008, 23:54
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby manutoo » 17 Dec 2009, 18:58

Humm, can u see the speed display ? it's split in 2. It looks like a display driver bug or something like this. This bug, if I wanted to create it, I couldn't ... ;)
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15573
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby Togtdyalttai » 17 Dec 2009, 20:04

CC wrote:Hmmm. This is worse than I thought. I looked at the picture again, and it isn't that my player has his head down; it is that, he has no head!

:fear: :fear: :fear: :fear:


CC, you have so many funny bugs. I'm sorry that you have them, but this one made me laugh.
#1
2010 Singles: 66-10 (no wo (4))
2010 Doubles: 21-11
2009 Singles: 105-14 (no WO (6))
2009 Doubles: 11-8
Best Results:
'10: W: AO, Miami, Casa, Barca, Rome, Stuttgart, Hamburg, Cincy
'09: W: 13 including Rome, Madrid, RG, Wimby, Cincy, USO
User avatar
Togtdyalttai
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 1693
Gaming Since: 05 Sep 2008, 00:06
Location: USA

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby CC » 18 Dec 2009, 05:35

ManuTOO,

OK. I am having no other issues with my system. I guess I will fix this myself as with the other bugs. Maybe others don't report the bugs that they encounter. This game has corrupted the .ini file from 2006, on three computers. It isn't me. Maybe one day it will be more stable.
CC
User avatar
CC
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 503
Gaming Since: 17 May 2008, 23:54
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby CC » 18 Dec 2009, 05:53

Hmmm. This is a strange one. The fix wasn't as simple as I thought that it would be (haven't found the fix, yet). When I check the advanced display settings in the game, the graphics adapter isn't identified on the screen as it always has been. I turned on Windows' driver verifier several days ago, and the other day it found a bug with a driver and told me that the driver would have to be updated. However, it didn't tell me which driver, and I have to determine this when I have more time. Right now, I can't play the game. I may download it and reinstall it, but I don't think that it is going to help. ManuTOO, you were right, I think. But, if I find anything specific to the game as a cause or resolution, I'll update this topic. My system seems fine. I'm perplexed as to why TE is the only thing having problems.
CC
User avatar
CC
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 503
Gaming Since: 17 May 2008, 23:54
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby CC » 19 Dec 2009, 06:02

OK. So, I don't understand this. I downloaded and reinstalled the graphics driver, but this didn't help. Then, borrowing from a tip ManuTOO posted in another topic, I copied and pasted the Tennis.ini file from the root of TE to my Profiles folder, and I renamed it to my normally named .ini file (having deleted that one). Then, I launched the game, having previously set it to use the default profile (which didn't help and caused two crashes which were sent to Managames.com) when a match was attempted. I activated the profile of the name that I normally use (now just the Tennis.ini with a different name, and I was able to start a match and see the little lady across from me and my player as the blond buy with a band on his head. Now, with this result, I think we are back to this being a bug in the game. Had I changed something else on my system and corrected this issue, then it would be maybe a driver issue or whatever. Since it was resolved by basically some value of the default Tennis.ini file replacing some apparently corrupt value in the .ini files in the Profiles folder (and I had tried several of these, such as Default.ini, etc.), then I think it is the game that has a bug. If this game is ever to be more popular, I think that it should be more stable.
CC
User avatar
CC
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 503
Gaming Since: 17 May 2008, 23:54
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby CC » 19 Dec 2009, 06:22

Hmmm. Well, I found an issue in the .ini file, I think, that was causing the problems. If I delete my .ini file and copy and paste a backup that I made before this issue started, when I then start the game and try to play a match, the issue remains. However, if I close the game, open the .ini file that I am using as my profile in Notepad, open in Notepad the backup .ini file, and then copy the contents (Ctrl-A) of the backup file to the Notepad window of the other file (replacing all text therein), and then save the .ini file for my normal profile, the game works fine when I start it and play a match. But that isn't the end of this.

Now, when I then close the game and reopen it and try to play a match, I am right back where I was, except now my player has a head (but there is no CPU player). Obviously, the game is corrupting this .ini file for some reason. What is strange to me is that replacing the .ini file of my normal profile with the one of the backup doesn't work, but replacing the contents of the normal .ini file with the contents of the backup .ini file does work (at least until I open the game and close it). At least I can play the game now, and I don't have time to keep troubleshoot these issues ;) . I would rather just be able to play the game ;) .
CC
User avatar
CC
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 503
Gaming Since: 17 May 2008, 23:54
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby Algo » 19 Dec 2009, 06:32

I'm having the feeling that you might want to do a virus-scan on your pc, it's just not normal that you have had all these bugs and no one else had, is it? :P
Tour Mod.

Tour issues by PM or Skype.
If you don't add me nor send me a PM, you might see your chances reduced. Inform me about anything that might have went on with your matches BEFORE deadlines, otherwise, decisions won't be changed.
Algo
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 2345
Gaming Since: 11 May 2008, 20:17
Location: Santiago, Chile

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby manutoo » 21 Dec 2009, 10:42

CC, as you noticed in the other topic, I don't say there's no Tennis.ini corruption ; I just say this particular bug is likely related to your display drivers, coz I just can't split in 2 the polygons of the service speed display even with many of my bugs ; I could although possibly make the head disappear with a bug, but as there's a display drivers bug just beside, I'll guess it's not from the game engine this time... ':D

Could you post your corrupted .ini here ? I'd throw an eye on it.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15573
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby CC » 23 Dec 2009, 06:33

ManuTOO,

Sure. Now the issue with the offset of the speed, etc., is something that you said you had seen before I mentioned it. All I have to do to reproduce it is to close the lid on my laptop and then open it. I can make the counters display in their proper places then by minimizing the TE window and maximizing it.

I don't have other issues with video, so I doubt that there is a display driver bug on my system. The driver verifier did not report an issue with the display driver (I had assumed that it had due to the issue with the game, but this turned out to be a bug in the game and not a bug in my system (and I don't have viruses)).

You say you can't make the head disappear, etc, but I say that the problem has to be with the .ini file as just replacing it fixes the issue. So, maybe the game is having an issue with the drivers that my system uses, but I have a standard installation, if you will. If the game doesn't work with the signed drivers that I am using, then to me the game has a bug and can be made more stable when this issue is corrected. Sure, there could be some problem with my system, but I don't have any indication of that, and it seems more likely that something in the game needs to be corrected. If it matters, this is a new ThinkPad T400 with Windows XP Professional SP3, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator, etc.; all pretty standard things. I'm not hacking my system, tweaking it, overclocking, or any of those things that many gamers do.

I'm not sure what I should post of the .ini. As I said, if I copy and paste the .ini from a backup and name it to the profile that the game is configured to use, the display issues and other issues happen when I start the game. If I then close the game, open the backup .ini file and paste its contents over the contents of the "new" file of the profile that the game is set to use, then the game works fine the next time that I open it. But if I then close the game and restart it, the display issues and such are back. I can repeat this cycle. Anyway, I guess I should post before and after .ini files, then.

Here is the copy of my regular profile:
Copy of CC New (red).ini
(20.6 KiB) Downloaded 14 times


Here is the regular profile with the game open after its contents have been replaced with the contents of the copy of the regular profile:
CC New (red).ini
(20.6 KiB) Downloaded 15 times


Here is the regular profile with the game closed after I was able to play matches with no display issues by replacing the .ini contents as described above; if I open the game now, the display issues occur:
CC New (red).ini
This is after game has been closed; display issues with this file.
(21.82 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
CC
User avatar
CC
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 503
Gaming Since: 17 May 2008, 23:54
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby CC » 23 Dec 2009, 08:30

This should help. Here is a link to a video of these issues:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKQ_AsofJ0A

I used a capturing program to record video as I open the game with issues, close it, correct issues by replacing .ini contents, open game with no issues, etc. The bug with the offset of the counters can be seen at the end when the screen goes black (because I had closed the lid) and then reappears with the counters offset until I minimize and restore the window. So, for all of you doubters, here is your verdict.
CC
User avatar
CC
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 503
Gaming Since: 17 May 2008, 23:54
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby manutoo » 05 Jan 2010, 16:21

CC, I actually looked into that a couple of weeks ago, but got super lazy to write message in forum... :unsure:
So, "Copy of CC New (red).ini" is already corrupted, so you shouldn't use it as a backup. Thus I don't know much about further corruption, I'd rather try to fix the 1st corruption, if I can find when it happens.
But if I follow ur step, I get the missing P2 & the head problem. I still don't get the split service speed though. I said split, not offset. Look again ur screenshot : the upper part is way left of the lower part of the speed characters.

You say you can't make the head disappear

I actually said the opposite, re-read my previous message... ;)
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15573
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: What am I to do? There is no one to play with. Sniff.

Postby CC » 13 Jan 2010, 05:43

Manutoo,

Thanks. Sometimes when I read again a post I think that I misunderstood the first time that I read the post.

Yes. I made a mistake about the disappearing head statement. Sorry.

We are so close to understanding each other here, but you don't understand about the offset. I do now see the split that you referred to, but when I speak of offset, it is the issue mentioned here: http://www.managames.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2635 . I didn't post a picture of this in this topic, but you may see this I think at the end of the YouTube video that I posted a link for. If you look at the original post, you will see that the 105 mph is offset from where it should be in that rectangle. So, it definitely is an offset issue that I spoke of. The minimize / maximize trick resolves it, but it happens every time that I close my laptop lid with the game open (the offset happens), and there is nothing that special or unusual about my laptop.
CC
User avatar
CC
crazy of the little yellow ball
crazy of the little yellow ball
 
Messages: 503
Gaming Since: 17 May 2008, 23:54
Location: Mississippi, USA


Return to TE - Bug Report

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mihaelzob and 1 guest