modding on a MAC

Everything about Modding the game, from new courts to the modifications of the player & tournament bases (and including all the bugs they may be creating ! ;) )
Forum rules
Speak English in 1st page of topics, and don't hijack topics, troll, use profanities nor insults

modding on a MAC

Postby Nababesco » 01 Apr 2011, 08:16

Hi.

I have Tennis Elbow 211 for Mac and of course I have it registered, I mean the full version.
For the last couple of days, I've been trying to mod the game installing patches, courts and outfits I've downloaded from this forum.
Unfortunately, whenever I do it, the game crashes.
Is it maybe because I'm on a Mac? I read somewhere on this forum that it's impossible to mod the game myself, but possible to mod using stuff that other people do and upload.
Can anybody help me?

Many thanks!
Nababesco
Guest
 

Re: modding on a MAC

Postby manutoo » 02 Apr 2011, 05:22

Hello,

all visual / outfit Mods should work without problem, as long as you install them correctly.
Any Tour / Player databases mod can easily lead to crash, either you have the Windows or Osx version.
Open the System.log with a text editor & check for errors & warning in it.
BTW, you have access to all .ini in the OSX version (in the Data subfolder), so you can Mod the bases if you wish.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15808
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: modding on a MAC

Postby nababesco » 02 Apr 2011, 08:01

Hello again.

I understand you, Manutoo, so instead of installing mods, I've been trying to add things one by one all by myself.
The first thing I've been trying to do is add courts, and I'm totally lost. Please help me understand why.
My howtomod file talks about a Data\Court folder and a Menu folder. My Mac version doesn't have either.
My data folder doesn't have any subfolders and on the root there is no Menu folder.
Is it because there is no way to add courts on a Mac?

I appreciate your help, Manutoo!
nababesco
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 6
Gaming Since: 01 Apr 2011, 17:30

Re: modding on a MAC

Postby nababesco » 02 Apr 2011, 08:16

Hello again, Manutoo.

Please disregard my previous post. I've just realized the folders I wrote about are supposed to be extracted from the .pak files, which I can't do on a Mac.
Okay. So I tried to install a whole mod here and I got this message:

"Your key appears to be invalid.
Please contact us at contact@managames.com,
with your first name, last name and customer id".


I wouldn't be surprised if I had used a crack or something like that, but I actually paid for the license (smiles).
So I press enter, the game runs the loading screen and then I get: "Missing, wrong or corrupted data files. Please reinstall the game".
And then the "en_order_fullversion.html" file opens.

As you suggested, I checked the system.log file and I saw the following warnings:

warning: not enough parameters specified after 'GetPlayerReview' in Item 'boardreviewsub/1/'
warning: not enough parameters specified after 'GetPlayerReview' in Item 'boardactivitytitles/1/'


Any hints on what might be happening and how I can solve it?

Again, many thanks for your help!
nababesco
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 6
Gaming Since: 01 Apr 2011, 17:30

Re: modding on a MAC

Postby manutoo » 03 Apr 2011, 05:04

If a subfolder is not already present, you can manually create it, to put the Modded files in it.

About the Mod you installed, you didn't tell which one, but if it's the one I think of, then it's shipped with an old version of Data/Pak01.Pak . Delete this file, and get the correct one from the official demo version, and you should be all good.
ManuTOO
== Mana Games ==

>> I don't answer Private Message, except if it's really a _Private_ topic <<
User avatar
manutoo
Game Author
 
Messages: 15808
Gaming Since: 24 Jan 2004, 15:38
Location: France

Re: modding on a MAC

Postby nababesco » 04 Apr 2011, 07:54

Hi, Manutoo

Thanks for your help. As it turns out, I was doing everything just fine in terms of installing the mod.
It was exactly what you said: the mod had an old version of Data/Pak01.Pak. I installed the original file and now it's running fine.
Sorry for not saying which mod it was. It's the one in this link:
http://www.taringa.net/posts/juegos/930 ... quot_.html

Again, thanks a lot!
nababesco
tennis enthusiastic
tennis enthusiastic
 
Messages: 6
Gaming Since: 01 Apr 2011, 17:30


Return to Modding [Courts, Players, Tour, ...]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot [Bot] and 0 guests